Luke's Kitchen [Travel]

2008 Aug 7
To whom it concerns,

I am a recent graduate of Queen's University's Department of Film & Media and am currently completing a short documentary about a fierce proponent of the Slow Food Movement who is quickly gaining recognition by the media and general public -a teenage culinary prodigy named Luke Hayes-Alexander, executive chef of “Luke's! Gastronomy” in Kingston, Ontario.

Luke is committed to the principles of the slow food movement, both for himself and his restaurant. He only uses local, seasonal, organic ingredients for dishes that he makes entirely from scratch. Luke also contributes herbs, vegetables and wine from his family’s own garden and vineyard to the restaurant's dishes, which can be loosely described as charcuterie and molecular gastronomy. Finally, as part of his belief in respecting the animals he uses as ingredients, Luke has often talked about going hunting to fully understand what the animal must experience to be fully appreciated as a culinary dish.

Luke is approaching adulthood at the same time as his fame is increasing exponentially. So far, Luke has been profiled by the Ottawa Citizen, Toronto Star, Foodservice & Hospitality Magazine and CBC Radio. As a long-time service employee of the restaurant, I am one of the most capable individuals to make this deeply personal documentary which delves into a slice of life of this talented but shy individual that is not revealed during interviews.

The film has the full consent and support of Luke, his parents, his friends and Greg Burliuk, food editor of the Kingston Whig-Standard (he praised the documentary in a weekend in-depth entertainment guide earlier this year). Peter Raymont, executive producer of CBC's The Border has also assisted me in its production. A very rough cut of the documentary has also caught the attention of the YoungCuts Film Festival and HGTV Canada.