Charcoal Best Prices Best Brands [General]

2011 Apr 26
I have been using Natures own lump charcoal. On the bag says it is sugar maple hardwood. I'm new to cooking with charcoal so not sure what to pay for a large bag or even the best to use. Are there any recommendations for lump charcoal? Do briquettes taste and work better? I tried real hardwood chunks but that created allot of smoke and I don't want my neighbors calling by law on me so I think I will stick to lump with wood chips for smoke.

2011 Apr 26
Hi Ken, I find that although briquettes burn a bit more steadily and light easier, the taste of lump charcoal is far superior.

In my experience, if you start grilling or roasting over briquettes and even a few are not perfectly lit, their is a slightly unpleasant taste imparted by the briquettes as they begin to light. Lump doesn't provide that; it may be in my head I'm not sure.

Lump charcoal burns a bit hotter and is consumed a bit faster in my observation. I use Kingsford, it is nothing special but nothing wrong with it either. A chimney starter or modded coffee can is key when lighting lump, it's hard to start otherwise without using fluid.

Lump also tends to "spark" if the lid of the BBQ is left open, so be careful of anything around when you are grilling. You also have to be patient, it takes about 1 hr to get a steady, hot fire.

2011 Apr 26
The one we use is the "Royal Oak Lump Charcoal" and we tend to purchase it from Canadian Tire. For my money and the large amounts that we go through each year this is our go to fuel.

www.canadiantire.ca!-1157475249?PRODUCT%3C%3Eprd_id=845524443279437&bmUID=1303833865791

Tip: Stores tend to stock more of this in season. In the off season it gets harder to find and becomes more expensive. We tend to stock up (buying several bags) for winter BBQing in the fall when they go on sale.

Lump Charcoal VS Briquettes: www.barbecuesgalore.ca

Previous thread on Lump Charcoal

2011 Apr 26