Favourite meal of five ingredients or less. [Recipes]

2010 Jan 28
For those that don't know, I'm a student and as much as I love going to a really nice restaurant, I also enjoy eating simply.

So, I'm wondering: What's your favourite simple meal. Five items (including seasoning) or less.

Right now, mine is as follows:

Cabbage
Thickly sliced bacon
Olive oil
Pepper
Salt

Basically, it's roasted cabbage wedges, which are amazing and nutty and down right delicious (not to mention healthy).

So yeah, that's right, I had a whole head of cabbage for dinner. For directions, the recipe can be found here: www.thekitchn.com

2010 Jan 28
My favourite easy make these days is Pasta & Sauteed Veggies
(ok a wee bit more than 5 items)

Saute Onions, Mushrooms & Peppers in Olive Oil
Add Cherry Tomatoes
Allow things to sweat down, almost caramelize
(total to this point 5 Ingredients)

Dish-up over Whole Wheat Spaghetti
Add a bit of grated Parm

Serve with a nice Red Wine

*Photo is my own... actual dish.

2010 Jan 29
Brunch lady...roasted cabbage>>>sounds delicious, I love raw cabbage.

Try this U.K. student fare:
Baked potato with tuna, mayo (light mayo or skip it if you wish) , sweet corn or chopped green onions and side salad.
The combination of the cold tuna and creamy mayo with the hot potato is really good. Plus the salad should have a balsamic or olive oil dressing to go with the potato and tuna...its all very healthy, satisfying, delicious and filling.

2010 Jan 29
Pasta carbonara with just pancetta/bacon, eggs, cheese, pasta, and pepper. I've been making that since my student days!

Miso soup with spinach, soba, egg/tofu, edamame. Inauthentic but delicious.

These days I've been eating this delicious pea, leek and sauerkraut soup. Healthy and only 5 ingredients if you don't count the olive oil and salt!

www.thewednesdaychef.com