Do you have any foodie goals for 2009? [General]

2009 Jan 23
I was reading some interesting goals on another site and was wondering what kind, if any, of food goals Ottawafoodies have for 2009?

Let me share mine:

1. Go for Hot Pot- have had it at home with friends but never in a Chinese restaurant.
2. Make a souffle. One of the things I have never tried.
3. Make homemade pate or a terrine. Love the stuff and would like to be able to make my own.
4. Make steak tartare at home with out giving myself food poisoning.
5. Go out for Korean food. I have intended to go for quite a while but have never managed to actually do it. I've been to several Korean owned "japanese" restaurants but that's not the same.
6. Visit one of Ottawa's higher end restaurants- I am a student, so this one will have to wait a bit.

I'm sure I'll think of a lot more, but how about you guys?

2009 Jan 24
Just graduated a culinary program, so I would like to try new and exciting things. Still on a fast food budget, but once in a while I will try new places. Any suggestions for a really great roast lamb?

2009 Jan 24
there was another thread recently highlighting resolutions (what not to do, e.g., drink less beer), but focusing on the positives:

i. to try locally: Etelier & Zen Kitchen. And, a bit further afield: Prince Edward County wines (a hold-over from last year), and in Mississauga, Hashimoto's.

ii. to get better at: bbq'ing -- some friends leaving town gave us theirs, and the truth is that i kind of suck.

iii. acquire / learn some new skill-set: this might draw on the influence of fellow O-Foodies here, such as Zym's canning / coffee roasting pursuits or Captain Caper's home distillery blueprints :)

2009 Jan 24
Off the top of my head...

1. Try Beckta for the first time (I sent my parents there for their anniversary and they really liked it).