Home winemaking [Booze]

2009 Dec 1
Do any of you make your own wine, either at home or at an on-premises facility? I'm just starting out with the hobby in my basement -- bottling my first batch of very cheap stuff today -- and I love the whole process. While I hold no delusions about the quality of this batch, only time will tell if higher end products will be good enough to replace visits to the LCBO. :-)

Anyway, I added a couple of vendors related to the hobby. I noticed that the internet has no opinion-based reviews of home winemaking kits, so I'm harnessing the power of Ottawa Foodies to remedy the situation.

Defalco's - Defalco's
Wine Kitz - Wine Kitz

Home winemakers, past and present, please feel free to come out of the woodwork and share your experiences here!

2009 Dec 1
I've never tried wine, but from some of my brewing friends who do it what I gather is that if you really want to be replacing the finer wines at the LCBO you have to get into pressing your own grapes - which fortunately you can do with the help of Musca and a few other places in Little Italy, every fall.

Though some of the higher-end kids probably make a wine that I personally would never be able to tell from the LCBO stuff :-)

2009 Dec 1
You might be pleasantly surprised at the quality of your first batch.

I usually buy my kits from Costco. They seem to alternate between two different brands (no real difference in quality).

One problem is variety. They usually only have the standby chardonnay, sauv blanc, merlot, cab sauve.

Anyways what I really like about their kits is the consistency. I have never had a problem. I think I only had one yeast pkt that didn't start correctly (have made over 100 batches).

Dollar for dollar - these kits provide excellent value. They regularly so on sale for around $50 for a double batch. Its great having your own stockpile of wine in the basement. Definitely cuts down on the trips to the lcbo.