Home Made Granola [General]

2009 Aug 13
Verbatim from my blog at : www.urbanhippy.ca

I wanted to make Granola, but as I usually do with something new, I don't like to just get a recipe and try it out, I like to read a bunch of recipes to come to understand the basic essence of the thing I want to make. Then I make up my own recipe. I've been making granola bars for a couple of decades now, and truth be told I even tried my hand at granola in there once or twice during that time - but in the past I'd always just followed a recipe. In reading up on granola, it became clear that it is very similar to granola bars - go figure. Basically use a bit less moisture, a bit more grains, and bake longer at lower heat, without pressing the mixture into the pan. Instead, you distribute it loosely, and mix it about every half hour while baking.

Here is my first crack at it, which is still in the oven. Based on the taste test going into the oven as well as comments on the terrific smell from my wife and youngest son after it had been in the oven a while, I think this will prove to be a pretty good first kick at the can!

What I have come to believe granola to be, is about 10 cups of grains, about 3 cups of seeds and nuts, about 2 to 3 cups of dried fruit, about a cup of honey, about 3/4 cup oil, a bit of salt, and a few other spices like vanilla, cinnamon, nutmeg and the likes.

Grains

* 5 cups rolled oats
* 3 cups flaked barley
* 2 cups buckwheat groats, buzzed in a blender or food processor

Seeds and Nuts

* 1 cup sunflower seeds
* 1 cup flax seeds
* 1 cup sesame seeds

I buzzed the nuts in a food processor with

* 1/2 cup oil

Fruit

* 13 dried apircots
* 15 prunes
* 3/4 cup dried canberries

Buzz fruit food processor with

* 1/4 cup oil
* 1/4 cup milk
* 2 tsp vanilla extract
* 1/4 cup honey

In hindsight I'd probably replace the milk with a piece of ripe fruit like an apple, pear, or peach, and maybe an extra-ripe banana or two. I will try that next time and report back.