Can you give me suggestion? [General]

2009 Jan 13
Hi,
I'm new to Ottawa.

Searching for the restaurant near byward market for lunch, I selected some only by information on the web.

Can you give me suggestion and more detailed comments on them?
What I have in mind is around $60++~70++ of 2 course lunch for 2 without wine.
Preference for food is any european, traditional or fusion.

1. Moji Restaurant
2. Murray Street
3. Navarra
4. The Fish Market Restaurant
5. Mamma Grazzi's Kitchen

Thank you in advance.

2009 Jan 13
Welcome Maple. Here's my take on those:
1. Moji - have not been
2. Murray Street - quite good, check out the online menu...
3. Navarra - heard good things, but I've not been
4. The Fish Market - my mom said, if you've nothing nice to say...
5. Mamma Grazzi's - It's been a while but I've always liked the Italian here. They are not historically fast, so it won't be a short lunch.

6. Domus - very good, highly recommend.
7. Mezanotte - very good, highly recommend.
8. Social - pretty good, fun at lunch with lots of artsy business sorts. Mojitos to die for...
9. NAC - I'll get panned for this one, but I've always liked the NAC restarant, although it's at it's most entertaining on a warm spring day, on the outdoor patio overlooking the canal... ahh...warm days...

Let us know how it turns out!

2009 Jan 13
I echo Pete-In-Ottawa's recommendation of Mezanotte, as well as Domus. I haven't been to Murray Street, but has heard wonderful things.

The Courtyard also comes highly recommended.

I can also echo his comments (or lack there of) about The Fish Market.

Enjoy!

2009 Jan 13
Maple - Another EEEECCCHHHHOOO
LOL

The Fish Market just can't stand up side-by-side with many of the others you've listed. As has been said here before in the past... there are some great places to eat in the Byward Market, and then there are just some places that are located there because of the volume of tourist traffic.