Infused Vodka [Food/Vendor]

2008 Oct 17
Hi all,

As a crazy Canuck I am in love with a well made Caesar Cocktail... a couple of years ago the LCBO used to carry a product known as Inferno Vodka. Loved it, it made a fantastic Caesar. Since then the LCBO in their wisdom have decided not to continue to carry this Canadian product.

About a year ago, I came across Inferno again, turns out that Kittling Ridge (yes the wine people) are also into distilling Spirits and they carry a wide variety of unique products in the QEW Storefront in Grimsby (both hard stuff and liqueurs). So I happily picked me up another bottle.

Well a year has passed, and the Inferno Vodka is no more. As I don't know when exactly I'll be back in Niagara, I'm thinking of infusing some vodka myself, but I have no experience doing this. And in light of all the germaphobic stories about food safety lately I am a little concerned about the safety of this. Has anyone any experience with infusing vodka?

As it stands right now I'm thinking of buying a hot pepper or two (the long skinny kind, see photo of Inferno) and just as an extra precaution I will wash them off and then nuke them for a minute or so, I figure the heat will "cure" them at the same time loosening up their favourability, and then drop them into the Smirnoff.

Any thoughts?

2008 Oct 18