Hole in the Wall Restaurants [Food/Vendor]

2010 Nov 19
I am relatively new to Ottawa but am always on the look-out for great, cheap food at small, unassuming, or otherwise hidden locations. I do realize that a "Hole-in-the-Wall" restaurant has different meanings for different people, but therein lies the fun. Let a newbie know where your favorite HITW spot is.
Our family has found Whitehorse restaurant on Tremblay for cheap breakfasts after music lessons.

I also live near the new Havana cafe and, although I haven't been in yet, I am hoping this becomes another one of my favourite HITW spots.

Let me know your guilty pleasures.

2010 Nov 19
a few come to mind -
meadows (adeline & preston) for good simple breakfast.
rochester pub (rochester & norman) for good beer on tap and the nightly specials are decent.
la cabana (merivale & carling-ish) for el salvadorian food

2010 Nov 20
Not entirely a "restaurant" but they do have tables, with actual cutlery and real plates if you eat in.
Cedars and Co grocery store has pretty good food.

Most days you can get a chicken or beef brochette platter for around $12 something and they cook the meat on a grill while you wait.
I have only had that once, as lately I am not super hungry for such a big meal.
The grocery store also has a very good counter with prepared salads and this week they have dandelion salad (bought some and it was $1.75 for a 250 gram container).
They also have a "eggplant salad" it is made w roasted eggplant,vinegar,garlic.
It is not babaghanouj (that has sesame paste),
I can make the same eggplant salad at home-but it is a lot of bother usually.

You can also get samosas for $1.25 and they are good. Doubt they are made at the store. they have some fried w vegetable or meats or else a baked samosa that is good.

For fish I like Merivale fish market onMerivale rd. prices are very resonable for dishes-the clam strips are good,fish and chips is really good too.