New Ottawa Citizen restaurant critic [General]

2012 Sep 13
Peter Hum is going to be the new restaurant critic for the citizen.

www.ottawacitizen.com

2012 Oct 10
Is it just me that can hear the crickets? ;o)

Has the entire OF forum stopped reading the Citizen since Anne Desbrisay was shown the door, or does anyone have an opinion on Ms. Desbrisay's replacement? I no longer read the Citizen but occasionally check the restaurant reviews online.

Much as I like and respect Peter Hum as a music writer, I'm at a loss as to how his voice and culinary perspective is an improvement over those of Anne Desbrisay. I'm also waiting to hear what relevant experience he brings to this column, you know, other than eating 2-3 times per day like the rest of us.

I've taken Anne up on a number of recommendations over the years and was never once was let down. Since she's been dispatched OF reviews mean more to me than anything the Citizen has published. But to be fair, Peter Hum's reviews are the only ones I've actually been able to read in their entirety.

But enough about me, what about the rest of you?

2012 Oct 10
The quality of the "food content" of the Citizen seemed to me like it was lower than it used to be in the last few months, but I pretty much stopped reading the Citizen when I started getting the screen saying "you've already read your 10 free articles, pay us to read more". So I can't comment on anything now written in there. (And I get slightly annoyed when people post links to a story there, as I know it's probable I'll be blocked from reading it... maybe there is a workaround they know about and I don't?)

2012 Oct 10
I also stopped reading it when they wanted me to pay ten bucks a month to read it. Which turned out to actually be a good thing, because every time I read the comments I came away a little more dumb than I was when I started. The level of ignorant on that site is so bad I'm scared it's contagious.

2012 Oct 10