fat equals flavour? [Cooking]

2011 Nov 13
Well, yes. It does, actually.

I made a nice pasta sauce the other night and it was so good that I had to have a second helping and more of the same for breakfast! The difference was that I had used regular ground beef (from Brian's Butchery). The extra fat in the meat added so much flavour to the sauce that it was a heavenly treat.

When we cook a ham, I always cut off the cracklins and serve them on the side. People can't get enough of them and they're the hit of the dinner.

I try to find good steaks that are well-marbled with fat, sometimes with a good amount of fat on the edge as well.

I love fat.
Is that wrong?

2011 Nov 13
Agreed. My favorite burger is made from ground beef, but mixed with the rendered fat from bacon. The extra fat does something for the texture aside from adding bacon flavor. Maybe It allows the surface of the burger to get crispier on the grill? I'm not a food scientist, but the texture is much improved.

2011 Nov 13
Fat is a treat, no doubt about it. It's not the only flavor though. I quite like the flavors of wood smoke(also not good for you). And spices like curcumin. Does anything lacking fat completely taste good? Yes, surprisingly. I think chilled pomegranate is exquisite.

2011 Nov 13
I save fat from everything and use it liberally in all my cooking. I use mainly animal fat for pan frying and so forth - it definitely adds flavour

Though I will add this - if you were buying good quality ground beef it can be exceptionally flavorful and still pretty low in fat. The pastured ground beef we get from a local farmer is so low in fat we sometimes have to add fat when using it, but the flavor is just worlds above the average supermarket stuff. And even butcher shop stuff since most butcher shops get the same factory schlock as the supermarkets.

2011 Nov 13