A Lesson on Lobster? [General]

2011 May 15
I have no experience dealing with lobsters. I'm kind of uncomfortable to buy one period. I've had it in restaurants couple times.

So it is alive when you buy it? What steps do you have to take then to prepare it?

2011 May 15
Just throw it in boiling water - that is it.

2011 May 15
.....for about 20 minutes. Melt butter, Lay out newspaper on table. Enjoy!

2011 May 15
so you don't have to do any of the declawing etc?
and how quickly must u get the lobster into water or fridge?

ps thanks guys

2011 May 15
20 minutes? Sure, maybe if it's a giant lobster or you like it rubbery... should be closer to 10 - 12 minutes. You don't want them to sit in your car all day so try to go home right after or bring a cooler with ice. Leave in fridge until ready to boil.

Yes, you'll have to do declawing. Look on youtube, lots of videos on how to gain access to the meat.

2011 May 15
Declawing is part of eating it - not something you do to prepare it for cooking.

I find the Lee Valley poultry sheers to be great for opening up a lobster to get at the meat.

Make sure you eat the tamali too !

2011 May 15
To Mart 242`s point; don`t really worry about keeping it warm at the table, it is more important to not overcook it. Overcooking lobster takes it from being a real culinary delight to something rather mediocre. I use a bamboo steamer basket run it for about 10 min and then turn off the heat.

Also, you have to be prepared to get very messy and take the time to really get at all the good edible stuff. You can also save parts of the shell/carcass to roast for a really nice lobster stock afterwards...

2011 May 15
If you're really squeamish about cooking it yourself, most places that sell lobster have a steamer-contraption-thingy so that you can have it cooked for you.