Fancy place for a date [Food/Vendor]

2013 May 21
I was thinking about navarra but if anyone has better recommendation I'm new to the awesome food scene

2013 May 21
There aren't a ton of "fancy" places to eat in Ottawa. There are, however, many casual restaurants
that really put out great food. In no particular order:

Town
Supply & Demand
Union
Murray Street
Fraser Cafe
The Wellington Gastropub
Allium
Absinthe
Taylors Genuine
Oz Kafe
Atelier
The Whalesbone
Back Lane Cafe

Make a reservation.

2013 May 21
Fancy:

Le Baccara
Cordon Bleu
Beckta
Shore Club
I'm sure the restaurant at Brookstreet is fancy

But I'd recommend the same as the entry above - go somewhere casual with excellent food.

2013 May 21
I would also add Gezellig to the list of excellent food but not fancy

2013 May 21
Yup, Le Baccara, LCB, Beckta Shore Club are all good picks. Also, consider Atelier, and Le Tartuffe.

2013 May 21
Agree w/ most of the rec's mentioned but I would avoid Back Lane as my last two visits were underwhelming. Food was bland and boring.

Our visit to Allium was tainted by rude service and highly questionable restaurant policy/practice which really annoyed and ruined the special evening for our guest of honour and our table of 10.

I would also recommend Play and Stella.

2013 May 21
If you really want to impress her ..take her to the Prescott Hotel in Little Italy ...beer ..meatball sandwiches ..square pizza ...yum .. ;-)

2013 May 22
Fun long dinner date in a casual but cute place -> Meule et Craquelon in Gatineau. Fondu, BYO, great.

For 'fancier' any of the upthread recos are solid. If you want quieter, Shore Club, Gezellig and Taylors would top my list and i might add Carmen's Veranda and Jak's. For elegant, 18, Bacarra, Shore Club again. I deeply love and recommend Fraser Cafe, Wellington Gastropub, Oz Kafe and Union, but quiet they are not.

2013 May 27