Hunters and Gatherers.. [General]

2007 Sep 22
Hi All:
Having only recently joined this forum---I am curious if there is anyone here who (like me) has a peculiar obsession with food from the wild and specifically mushrooms?

What do I mean to say?

I am a botanist-naturalist-horticulturalist by profession who spends a great deal of time hiking around in wild places (both locally and in far-away locations) for my business. I am also European in background, which may explain my obsession (many Germans of my generation at least have a particular and rather profound connection with nature, and the treasures it yields for the stomach, and for health.)

Thus, one of my loves is finding wonderful edibles in the wild and creating yummy things out of wild fruit, herbs, etc. This has a long history in my life---and I could fill pages with what is "out there" and delicious. But....

What is currently obsessing me is mushrooms. Mushroom gathering is a huge preoccupation overseas--and a terrific way to combine a love of being in wild places with being productive. Mushroom gathering is something rarely engaged in by North Americans. Perhaps most individuals do not feel themselves confident enough to separate the edible from the poisonous species. Or perhaps we have all become too disconnected from the sources of our food and would rather just buy what we eat.

Is there anyone on board who knows perhaps more than me about fungi and has an interest in sharing information and locations?

Kristl

2007 Sep 22
My parents sometimes go Chanterelle-hunting with their Swiss club in the rainforests of Vancouver Island but I haven't heard of anything similar happening around Ottawa. I love eating mushrooms but wouldn't trust myself to separate the edible specimens from the toxic ones in the wild. If there were some kind of local course or field trip on the subject that would be really cool.