Szechuan [Food/Vendor]

2008 May 23
Hey folks, I'm still relatively new to Ottawa, and I have a killer hankering for some szechuan. Are there any local options?

I'm not a great fan of Cantonese, generally speaking, but I'd be happy to hear recommendations for any quality Chinese places that are light on the MSG and corn starch and heavy on freshness and flavour.

Thanks!

2008 May 23
Since you ask for "light on corn starch" I'm assuming you're looking for something more authentic than the North American Chinese places that sell very thick and sweet hot & sour soup as "authentic Szechuan cuisine."

I'd be happy to hear some recommendations too. I'd love to try an authentic hot and sour soup -- I bet it isn't so sweet! I've made my own ma po tofu, but again it would be neat to find a restaurant that does it right.

My fear is that Ottawa only has fake szechuan cuisine. :( However, if you don't mind that, a good starting point might be the hot and sour soup reviews on here: Hot and Sour Soup :-)

2008 May 26
I would also love to hear about some Szechaun food in town. But if you cook szechuan food at home, search out some good szechuan peppercorns. They should make the tip of you tongue and your lips go numb! :-) In university, I used to make hotpot in my dorm room. You need some kind of tabletop burner for this.
Some other recipes to try might be Dan Dan Mian (spicy noodles with ground pork) or the so-called fish-flavoured pork.

For anyone who is interested, there was a rant in the NY Times a while back about the state of Chinese food in North America:
www.nytimes.com

2014 Nov 10
I'd like to bump this. Any current recs? I am definitely hoping for the numb burny feeling of the szechuan pepperscorns mentioned above!

2014 Nov 11
Not a restaurant but a good product with LOTS of "numb burny feeling".

Found in many Asian grocery stores. e.g. Kowloon Market and T & T Supermarket.

Huang Fei Hong Spicy Snack Peanuts