Media List Development for Local Catering Company [General]

2016 Jun 7
Hi Ottawa Foodies,

I'm currently a public relations student interning at a local catering company and am in the midst of developing a media list of contacts I could reach out to in the city.

If any of you could suggest some avenues to explore to compile my list, for example:

o Ottawa newspapers
o Ottawa magazines
o Ottawa broadcast (TV and Radio)
o Ottawa-based foodies ONLINE

Or, are a local foodie I could reach out to personally with my public relations work for this catering company, please post in this thread or send me a pm.

Thank you.

2016 Jun 7
Maybe it's just me, but I don't understand the question.

2016 Jun 7
He/She wants media contacts for a list she is compiling!

2016 Jun 7
Yes. Got that part.
To do what?

..and if you say 'public relations' youre missing the point.

2016 Jun 7
You want a list of Ottawa newspapers, magazines, TV/radio stations, and websites, and you can't find this on your own?

2016 Jun 8
I know that I'm the last person to say this, but ... be nice.

Hintonburg Foodie is doing some leg work for a catering company. Those interested in helping can contact them, per the last item.

I agree that tv, radio, and newspapers could be easily sourced, but there are dozens of local papers and online interest sites/blogs that would be more difficult to track down.

If nobody contact them with a list to start from, they're going to have to do that work. I'd rather start with a list, myself.

Grade: C. Could have improved with a bit more effort and relevant information.

2016 Jun 8
Obviously, social media is a good way to network. Set up an account on Facebook and more importantly twitter and instagram. Follow the big movers and shakers (capital eats, Warby :), foodieprints ect..) and post some nice photos and I'm sure you'll set up a solid follower base. Also, posting on Ottawa Reddit wouldn't hurt.

2016 Jun 8