Gas/Electric??? [General]

2008 Apr 16
I am looking in to buying a new cooktop/range and would like some feedback as to what type of stove most people are using? advice on what to look for when shopping for a gas cooktop? What do you prefer? Opinions please.
Thanks

2008 Apr 16
I have no experience with Gas ranges, so I can't contribute much on that topic, although the people I know who have them, love them.

I have a plain old electric range, "The Man" has a stainless steel Frigidaire electric range with the glass-ceramic cooktop. He really likes the look of the appliance (as do I) but it does require upkeep. He has to a bigger wipe down after every meal than I do with my plain old range, because the stainless shows fingerprints and the glass-ceramic top can be tough to clean if any food residue burns onto the elements. Also the glass-ceramic can scratch or chip very easily (it has). But overall, I do like it more than my boring old range with the coils (talk about cleaning woes - less cleaning daily, but a pain to clean overall - too many nooks & crannys).

DAY DREAMING - IF I was to get new appliances, I'd choose a stove much like his, except I think I would go for the slide-in model, or a cooktop with seperate wall oven.

2008 Apr 16
Firstly, your choice of gas or electric may be determined for you, based upon whether you can install proper 'to the outside' ventilation or not. Also, there is comparing apples to apples. A normal electric, from a 'heating water' point of view cannot compare to a gas cooktop. The electric is essentially inferior. If however you are willing to consider electric induction cooktops, that is an apple-apple comparison with gas. (Note: 99% of flat, glass covered cooktop are NOT induction cooktops... so make sure you know the difference). So, if we are comparing Gas to Induction, here are some points
....................Gas.............Induction
Speed to heat.......FAST..............FAST
Simmer ability..BAD to EXCELLENT.....EXCELLENT