Save ZenKitchen [General]

2014 May 26
Only hours in and .... $2000 raised by 11pm , Monday, May 26th.

www.gofundme.com/9io1xo

Please don't shoot the messenger here. I am not endorsing the saving of a restauranteer who may or may not have financial difficulties .. for whatever the reason(s) or no reason(s) at all.
I'm just here reporting.

2014 May 27
"they have fun afoul of the overbearing hand of government, namely the Canada Revenue Agency (the CRA) and now, the CRA has forced them closed."

This really pisses me off. Allot.

I work hard for a living, and I pay taxes on my pay cheques. And I pay even more taxes when I buy goods and services. This guy has a registered business and he collected those taxes on behalf of the government of Canada. He failed to remit those taxes to the government and now he's crying because they shut him down.

I'm not crying for him.

He had an obligation to pay that money to the government and he used the money for god only knows what instead of doing that....and now he wants us to feel sorry for him. CRA doesn't shut businesses down because they owed $4000 in remittances (the amount on their account when seized by CRA) they do it when it's in the tens of thousands.

Sad that a local restaurant has closed down and people lost their jobs, but if we have to pay our taxes everybody should.

2014 May 27
Maybe he was using that money to pay his employees and suppliers that he owed? S

While I understand that it's an obligation to pay taxes, not all of us have 16 or so people depending on us for income. So what do you do in that situation...pay the government and not pay your employees or pay your employees and not pay CRA (ultimately I realize you're simply delaying the inevitable...)