food/kitchen truths [General]

2013 Feb 3
If you grind your own coffee, you never truly have a clean counter.

2013 Feb 4
No one else in the civilized world can load the dishwasher properly.

2013 Feb 4
I'll never know what it's like to own a dishwasher so long as I don't win the lottery or acquire a sugar daddy.

2013 Feb 5
I'm on my 3rd dishwasher and this was the most expensive at $50. First two were free.

2013 Feb 5
When I was a student living with roommates in a rat infested slum apartment downtown, we had a friend over for supper one night who naively asked us after the meal "Can I help you load the dishwasher?". We did not have ceilings in some areas of the apartment, much less a dishwasher.

2013 Feb 5
A bunch of cilantro lasts exactly one less day than you need it to.

2013 Feb 5
The visual shelf life of garlic, carrots and cucumbers is radically longer than their actual shelf life.

The best before date on yoghurt might as well read 'whenever'.

There is no acceptable answer to 'does this smell okay?'.

2013 Feb 5
You guys are so right Rizak, Brian, OSM.
I might add that no one else washes dishes by hand as well I do (you may replace "I" with your name).
Also, another truth - don't ever watch your buddies wash dishes by hand - you may find out that they don't use soap! Ahhh, that explains the lipstick on my beer glass...
No matter how big your kitchen "everything" drawer is it's not big enough.

2013 Feb 5
Who puts the milk container back in the fridge empty ?

Apparently NO ONE in my household.

Aaaaarrrrrgggggg !

2013 Feb 5
All these observations are right on the money. I didn't realize it but we must all live in the same house!

2013 Feb 5
A bag of rice <- a (the) solution to most urgent mobile-technology problems. (PS, it doesn't always work ... sniff.)

2013 Feb 5
This is from Steven Wright: Sour cream, why does it have an expiration date?

2013 Feb 5
toaster ovens are terrible toasters.

2013 Feb 5