Beaus is bypassing us for Toronto? [General]

2012 Apr 19
As per Forum - New Openings around town?post_id=48486#post_48486

???

Please elaborate

2012 Apr 19
Sure. How about BEAULO?
blog.barvolo.com

That hasn't been the only Beau's experiment in Toronto. I'm not being critical of Beau's, they go where the beer drinkers are, just hope we have a bar in Ottawa sometime soon that can support this sort of thing.

2012 Apr 19
OK, I heard about Beaulo but don't know any details. Did they release beers there that they did not here? Or what about it was bypassing us?

And as I've been saying to my beer geek friends in Ottawa for some 15 years now - if you don't like the local beer scene, then do something to change it. Open up a bar like Volo if you think we need one. Or if you can't afford it, find someone who can and offer to invest. Or get a group of friends together and invest.

2012 Apr 19
Beer list is at the link, I think there are 4 Volo exclusives there.

With respect, that's not fair or realistic. Starting a business is not something to undertake lightly, even by those who have the time, money, and training. I change the scene in my own little way, by supporting bars that serve good beer, by supporting LCBO special releases, by spreading the good word. If you'd like to tell my pregnant wife that I've decided to drop my already precarious job and plow our life-savings into a beer bar I'll stand over here.

Put up or shut up is a lame reaction to criticisms over a restaurant or bar scene in a city.

2012 Apr 19
have you tried emailing them to see why this stuff isn't in ottawa.....i'm sure they would respond

2012 Apr 20
Having been to Volo, the place is pretty fantastic, and unique. When I went they had beers that you cannot get anywhere else in Ontario (for example, their feature beer was Howe Sound Brewing - from Squamish BC, and one of my favourite brewpubs). It is obviously a labour of love for them.