Study debunks myths on organic farming [General]

2011 Sep 29
The results are in from a 30-year side-by-side trial of conventional and organic farming methods at Pennsylvania's Rodale Institute. Contrary to conventional wisdom, organic farming outperformed conventional farming in every measure.

www.thestarphoenix.com

2011 Sep 30
Thanks Zy. Here is a short video about a project in Zimbabwe that shows how farmers have increased yields and profits by using conservation farming without chemical fertilizers.

www.youtube.com

2011 Sep 30
Good links guys! Thanks.

2011 Sep 30
I'm a farmer. I know that these numbers are ridiculously wrong. There is no way that we can feed the world with old technology.

I'm old enough that I used to stook grain that was harvested with a binder. We had a thrashing machine that we did all of our neighbours grain with. The women made the most amazing meals for us!

Unless there is a big turnaround where everyone pitches in and helps with planting, weeding, and harvesting, there is no way that it can be done.

2011 Sep 30
I don't think he's saying organic farming = primitive farming, or the farming of yesterday, or going back in time. Not at all. It's about embracing science and state of the art techniques.

If his numbers are wrong, then you have to show why you think so.