New to Ottawa - Looking for a Fishmonger [General]

2011 Jul 5
Hi there,

I'm new to Ottawa and I am looking for a good fishmonger or fishmarket in the Ottawa area (willing to travel in the surrounding area). I'd like a place with a very fresh and wide selection. Actually, it doesnt have to be that wide of a selection so as long as it's fresh!!!

Many thanks for the suggestions!

2011 Jul 5
Pelican Fishery in Ottawa South is highly recommended for fresh fish. Ha Long Fish in Chinatown is also a good spot to try: www.ottawachinatown.ca

2011 Jul 5
Borealis - I have had good success at T&T Supermarket. The have great fresh mussels (in running water), crab and other fish and seafood. It's located at 224 Hunt Club Road. It's quite a drive for me, but often worth it. Cheers!

2011 Jul 5
Above are both good suggestions, but my recent favorite is Wellington wholesale seafood in Hintonburg, almost across the street from the KFC. He supplies many of the chefs in Ottawa, and the bonus is that we non-professionals get to access this wonderful resource. I've had excellent day boat scallops, black cod, matane shrimp, fresh pickerel and I know he can even get things like fresh crawfish in season. Have never been disappointed. Small place but excellent quality. A few weeks back I bought 5 pounds of mussels and every single one opened and they were delicious.

2011 Jul 5
How's the pricing at the Wellington wholesale store? Is it marked up for retail clients. I too have been searching for a decent seafood vendor. I tried the fish market on Merivale across from Dick's Burger Joint and .. they basically thaw frozen seafood on the ice... In the case of the shirmp, they open up the bags from the freezer and literally dump them out.. and up the price!

2011 Jul 5
Lapointe's also operates a wholesale store although I haven't been there yet. Their coordinates are here: www.lapointefish.ca

2011 Jul 5