Best Tofu Steak Marinade? [Cooking]

2011 Apr 11
I NOW HAVE A BBQ!!! For the first time in almost two years. This makes me want to grill EVERYTHING. Since I'm a broke student, I can't afford to have nice steak and chicken breast every meal, so I decided to make tofu steak. I like tofu, so I have faith in this project...

I looked up a few recipes online, but I want to hear about your tried and tested recipes that will make me actually CRAVE tofu. So far, I'm thinking either store-bought BBQ sauce with montreal steak spice OR lemon juice, worcesteshire, soy sauce, ginger, honey and garlic.

I'm sure you fine folks have better ideas.

2011 Apr 12
I'd be interested in seeing if people post grilled tofu recipes that are any good . . . :-)

Ground tofu can be substituted for ground beef in things like spaghetti sauce, tacos or vegetarian chili, where it's pretty much indistinguishable.

Not sure about the grilling tofu though.

2011 Apr 12
i love tofu! i eat leftover grilled tofu sliced cold in sandwiches (great with avocado or as a tlt (tofu, lettuce & tomato) on good bread. fresh off the bbq, i will slice it and have it in fajitas or even just on it's own.

to grill it on the bbq, i do it 2 different ways. if the marinade is the key, then i freeze tofu, thaw and slice, this eliminates most of the water, gives it a meaty texture and soaks up marinade like a sponge. if i want a slightly softer tofu (no marinade all the way down to the middle), then i just rinse and pat try tofu and marinade for however long i have.

i always use extra firm for bbq.

for marinades, i just wing it. i do have a moosewood marinade i will post later. for fajitas, i do lemon juice, lime juice, fresh minced garlic and chili powder. other marinades generally have soy sauce, vinegar and honey or brown sugar. i like to add fresh ginger to this and garlic.

i find the trick to tofu is how you handle it before cooking. the cooking won't take long on the bbq.

2011 Apr 12
Follow-up.