making pierogies [Recipes]

2010 Dec 12
we are considering a pierogie making new year's eve party. i have never made pierogies before, any tested recipes to share? suggestions? tips?

we have a few cheap dumpling presses, which i am hoping we can use. i am curious about dough and any filling ideas. i will do a google search, but i prefer tested recipes when i can get them.

thanks!

2010 Dec 12
Coincidentally I gave out this info on Twitter earlier today

Forum - Hunky Bill's Perogy Maker

urbanhippy.ca

2010 Dec 12
New Year's Eve Pierogie Party! Yazhooooo! Sounds like my kind of party.
However I'm no pierogie pro, but did make them a couple years ago, a many hours affair with dw and our dd and her dh. I've forgotten the dough recipe I used but do remember that it went best when I added all the liquid and then added the flour, as needed, as it was kneaded, just as I do with bread (so go with what you know and are comfortable doing as you make bread). Also, let it relax after kneading for ~15 minutes. We made them too small - about 3" - so I'd recommend 4, 4-1/2 or 5". As I will assume you will have lots of people working I'd make them by hand, having one roll and cut dough, 1 stuffing, one wetting the edge down with a water/bit of flour mixture, another folding and sealing with a fork dipped in flour, or something like that. The filling should be rt or cold.

We made up our own fillings with what we had on hand as we had 2 vegetarians and 4 cooks all open to innovation so we made up fillings to mix with mashed potato (russets):

- sweet potato in place of potato, thyme, and sauteed garlic, onion, mushroom, pepper, salt, balsamic vinegar (really good)
- old cheddar, butter, onions, garlic and s&p
- mushroom, onion, garlic, and s&p
- cottage cheese, butter, onions, rosemary, garlic, Parmesan, s&p
- red jalapeno stuffed with feta (it was in the fridge), goat cheese, sour cream, hot smoked Spanish paprika and pepper (my fave)