Growing food/herbs (tips) [General]

2007 Apr 20
Seeing as we're all food lovers, and summer's coming, some of us might like to grow veggies or herbs. I've opened this forum topic in order for people to post tips and comments about it.

Myself, i'm not very experienced, and being in an apartment i cannot have my own garden. For the past 3 years, i've grown tomatoes and herbs on the balcony.

There's nothing better than picking your own food out of the ground. :)

Share your tips/comments or stories :)

2007 Apr 20
Before I had a yard with a vegetable patch, I had good success with container gardening. As you noticed, tomatoes and herbs work very well in containers. My most successful crop, however, was Mesclun! You sow the seeds of these mixed salad greens in rich fertilized soil and in just 3 weeks you have a tender and delicate harvest. Pull out just the biggest ones and scatter a few more seeds to fill the gap. This way, you always have larger leaves available when you need them. If I remember correctly, I was able to cut them with scissors and the plants would keep on producing new leaves without having to re-seed much. We enjoyed many delicious salads from two 45-cm diameter containers.

2007 Apr 21
I grow mainly brewing-related stuff - large raspberry patch, several other fruit bushes, grapes, and of course hops. Though I don't really use the hops for brewing they are mainly decorative. Though they are now covering a fairly large part of the house that gets lots of direct sunlight, so they act as natural air conditioning in summer. And often I use the fruit for jam instead of brewing.

We also have a small herb garden 3' x 4'. It's easy to grow herbs and then you can dry them out for use during the winter. Just cut them off at the base and tie the stalks together and hang them upside down somewhere indoors. When dry just take off the useful parts and put them in a mason jar. That's a general rule - specifics can vary by herb.