becoming a waiter [General]

2010 Sep 9
OK, I'm unemployed and getting sick of high tech. And will take a big pay cut for a job I would be happy with.

I have this crazy idea that I will walk into The Lindenhof and they'll hire me because I am fluent in German, even if I have no experience in being a waiter.

So, tell me what I need to know so that I'll walk in armed!

And try to disseude (sp?) me from even doing it :-)

What kind of income could I expect to make at a restaurant? A better restaurant where the tips would be better.

2010 Sep 9
zymurgist Sorry to hear about the job loss - I hope things work out for you. Not sure about waiting tables since I have never gone down that route. I could however see you at the Clock Tower either waiting tables or brewing beer-;) In all seriousness would you consider Heritage Brewing or Kitchessippi Beer? There is always Beaus but Vankleek Hill would be quite a commute... Good luck with the job search.

2010 Sep 9
I worked at Pub Italia (big beer lover, so I figured I would at least enjoy the product selling) when I first moved here (or the first time I tried to move to Ottawa, long story, but a year or so ago).

I was not very good, lets put it that way. I was new, had waited tables before, but not in a while. I was making about 130 a night if it was fri-sat, 60-80 a night on weekdays. I only worked nights. You can hide a lot of this money from the gov (ahem) so you do pretty well for yourself.

The Good: The money! My first "real job" after paying tables paid significantly less. I like meeting lots of different kinds of people, and I love beer, so if a customer was into it, I had a great time and made good tips and everyone was happy.