Anyone into cracker making? [Recipes]

2010 Aug 21
I am an avid cook and I used to bake a fair amount but have gotten away from making things due to lack of time- I work 12 hr shifts and am a full time university student.

In an attempt to economize, I want to bake some of my regular snack items.

1)Mary's gone Crackers:

Anybody every make anything similar to these? I have a recipe I'm going to try but am just curious if anyone else has info that they could share?

2) Oatcakes, meaning the Walker's/Narin's type that aren't sweet. I have also collected a few recipes but was wondering if anybody has a tried and true recipe for these.

Does anybody make any other type of cracker?

2010 Aug 21
Oooh, I look forward to this thread!

I used to make oatcakes like that a long time ago, but would have to dig around for a recipe.

What about tortilla chips?

Forum - ISO: Tortilla press?

2010 Aug 21
Thank you for reminding me of this...it's very rewarding to make these. I've used this recipe twice - once with black sesame seeds and the other with flax seeds. Really great results.
smittenkitchen.com

2010 Aug 21
AMR- those look similar to the lavosh I used to make with just white flour.
I will try the spelt version because I am trying to stay away from wheat flour.

Zymurgist-As for tortilla chips, I actually own a tortilla press but how well do they turn out baked? I don't deep fry things.

2010 Aug 21
They are fantastic bakes! Check out the video I made a while back

2011 Dec 30
I make crackers semi regularly (just not during the summer re: no AC). I usually use flour from Watson's Mill (www.watsonsmill.com) or various Castor River Farms flours, which I often cut with AP flour. The herbs and spices are usually from my own garden stash or from Market Organics (www.marketorganics.ca) Message me privately if you're still looking for something along these lines.

2012 Jan 1
Alton Brown did a Good Eats on crackers once:

www.foodnetwork.com