A Chef's Perspective on Ottawa [General]

2010 Jul 12
Hello all I am currently an executive chef in Ottawa (where I'm from doesn't matter just say that we are well rated and in the byward market). I recently moved here from the Toronto area and was dismayed at the lack of culinary appreciation in Ottawa. The scene here seems to be less about good food and more about praising some defunct "superstar" chefs. Many reviewers (and yes my restaurant has been reviewed and quite well at that) seem to want to hob knob with these chefs and simply shun their nose at any new talent at arising in the city. Furthermore, it seems that Ottawa simply wants their chicken, salmon, and beef. Call the police if I ever but botaraga, quail, or any tropical fish on my menu. The lack of culinary appreciation will drive every new talent out this city.

I am not saying there are not great resturants in this city such as: Murray Street, Sweetgrass, Domus, and hell even Ahora. Just seems this city doesn't want any of us here.

Just my frustrated two cents.

2010 Jul 12
This is surprising news for me. Maybe my glasses are rose coloured but I had the impression that Ottawa was impressively embracing new restaurants and new restaurant visions as they have been showing up on the food scene. Atelier and ZenKitchen come to mind. I get the impression that as the recession hit, Ottawa kept eating! Gone are more traditional French dining like Le Cafe Henry Burger and Le Jardin. There are a lot of places that people might pick first before going to say a good old staple like Mama Teresa's. As a non-public servant I have been in awe at the rate my public servant neighbours do enjoy eating out. I also like that their tastes are eclectic. It can be Fil's Diner. It can be Petit Bills. It can be Play. It can be Fraser's Cafe. There is no singular palate.