Eatery input [General]

2010 Feb 11
Hello all,

I am a newbie here and am excited to join this forum. Need to pick your collective brains. The story: going to bring 16-yr old niece to dinner with DH & I beginning of March. She is from a small town and this is a big deal for her. Am trying to find somewhere that she actually recognizes the food on the menu yet offers fresh, well-prepared food which meets my foodie inclined self.

Am hoping to inspire her understanding that food does not have to be processed crud but not scare the crap out of her with a menu too foreign to her. :o She and DH are carnivores and I am a vegetarian. Never been to Mambo and thought maybe that would be the place as it looked fun. Liked the menu BUT not liking the reviews so that has been nixed. May be important to mention we love places such as the Wellington Gastropub however ...want to try something new. I also noticed the Grand Pizzeria.

Any ideas?

Thanks for any input...tango

2010 Feb 11
Tango - Welcome to Ottawa Foodies.

Here is a thought (cause I've had kids of that age) make it more about the location than the food... some of the better eateries in Ottawa have amazing locations, and that is what she'll remember long after the meal is over.

I grew up in a small town, and lived on meat & potatoes as a kid, wasn't all that experimental with food... BUT when I finally got to a fancy restaurant in the big city (Montreal) I was really impressed with the whole experience (can't for the life of me recall what I ate) but the experience was enough to make me want for more. I would say that is where my love affair with fine dining first began... Montreal landmarks like The Beaver Club (in the Queen E), Altitude 727 (atop Place Ville Marie), Gibbys (Old Montreal) etc.