Online photo sharing sites [General]

2009 Dec 17
Sorry for the slightly off-topic post but I know that a bunch of you are into (food!) photography. I'm fed up with the horrible picture quality on PicasaWeb (when they scale down from original large size) and I'm looking for a new place to store and present my photos.

flickr is appealing because the picture quality is good and they're well established. The only real downside is the lack of a traditional photo album view, which could cause confusion for some of the intended consumers of my photos.

I'm seriously considering SmugMug. It seems to have everything I'm looking for. Does anyone have any experience or endorsements to share?

Thanks!

2009 Dec 17
What about best of both worlds? Isnt there software that allows you to make web photo albums (or PDFs for example) from Flickr data? I'm a fan of Flickr Pro myself...

2009 Dec 17
Run gallery2 on your server - only downside is large up-stream bandwidth consumed by photos (on an already slow pipe), but this would likely only really be of concern if you had large numbers of visitors. But gallery2 is an exceptionally good system. And you keep control of it all.

2009 Dec 17
SmugMug is pretty good. My nephew stores all their photos there. I can download any of their photos in 3 different sizes (even the original maximum size). But I believe that it is not free ($39.95/year).

Some of my friends like to use Flickr. But I found them a bit slower sometimes.

I use PicasaWeb very often to share photos. But when my friends ask for the original size, I then send to them individually. It is free!

2009 Dec 18
zym, I used Gallery (1 and 2) for quite a few years, but my server's relatively slow up-stream bandwidth pushed me to try PicasaWeb.

Thanks for the info, Pete and Ashley. I'm still on the fence between flickr and SmugMug.

2009 Dec 18