All Things Cheese [General]

2009 Oct 7
I'm new to the cheese world and would like to share my new 'hobby' with the rest of Ottawa. Like fine wine, there is a real story behind cheese, where its from, how its made and milk type...It's a little overwhelming but with some help I'm sure to become a real cheese connoisseur. I stopped into a cheese shop on Bank st. the other day and fell in love. After trying a few select types of cheese I have found a great source for the first few entries into my cheese journal. I can't wait to go back (payday).

Cheers,

Big Cheese

2009 Oct 7
cheese journal? *snicker*

2009 Oct 7
Welcome Big Cheese. Are you sharing these discoveries on another website (blog?), or were you going to relate your cheese experiences here in a forum?

Don't mind monty... he's just jealous ;-)

2009 Oct 7
Big Cheese:

I find Ottawa pretty good for locating high quality cheeses: I tend to get mine at La Bottega/House of Cheese/International Cheese & Deli in the Byward market and at Il Negocio Nicastro on Bank Street.

I'm slowly learning about cheese, my partner is Corsican and to say she takes cheese seriously would be an understatement! Maybe I need a cheese journal...

2009 Oct 7
Big Cheese - Well as a wine enthusiast I can totally relate... the world of cheese is indeed about as big and has a lot of variety in types, styles, and places of origin. I think that keeping a journal for notes is a good idea.

Since becoming far more serious about my wine interests / knowledge, I am also discovering more and more about cheese as well... but my primary interest is wine (and keeping just that journal keeps me busy enough). Look forward to you sharing your discoveries with us here on the OF Forum.

2009 Oct 7
I can't tell you how lucky you are in Ottawa with your cheese selection.

In 2005, I came back from France with all kinds of great cheese experiences and was eager to hunt stuff down back in Manitoba.