Music you can really sink your teeth into. [General]

2009 Aug 24
Corny title, I know.

But out of curiosity, what are your food/music habits if you have any?

Radio on? Preferred dining music? Preferred cooking music? Do you dance whilst whisking and ask your partner to dip you while opening the oven (I hope not!)

The topic came about between my husband + I when we were at Black Cat Bistro on Saturday; the server created the playlist and I kid you not, the songs were all from CDs that we had in our car. We joked that we ought to double check the glove compartment before leaving.

On the playlist were
Bruce Springsteen
Leonard Cohen
Neil Young
Johnny Cash
Otis Redding

and others.

These are pretty much our standard favourites to lisetning to whilst eating and cooking, so it was one of many pleasantries of the evening.

2009 Aug 24
When I try to bake something I am not really good at (pie shell, croissant for example) I listen to Amy Winehouse. I don't know why, but I become very positive and don't worry about the outcome from my oven when I sing along with her. Lastweek I baked 'rock hard' croissants :(

I am classical music lover. I love Chopin, Bach and Rachmaninoff.
My dream is to translate their music into visual pastry art, to create pastry which is inspired by their beautiful misic.
For example, when I think of Chopin's nocturne Op62-1, I come up with an idea making coffee sponge cake with rich chestnut cream and dark chocolate cream, or creme Patissiere... add hint of rhum or brandy.

When I made this lemon mousse cake, I was listening "Aria con Variazioni" by Bach, played by Glenn Gould. Famous foodie, Hannibal Lecter, M.D loves this song. In The Silence of the Lambs, he enjoyed his 'special dinner' with this song.

2009 Aug 24
Usually, be it dinner party or general cooking, I'll fire up my "**** or above" playlist on iTunes, and shuffle the heck out of it. I have yet to commit the time to making "that perfect dinner party mix". One of these days!