Chipotle wars [General]

2009 Aug 11
Bought Pres. Choice's Chipolte Sauce this past week, and in contrast w/ my usual suspicious response to their various "memories of ...", i'm sort of impressed w/ this $1.99 bottle of smoky-sweet-spiciness: in 4 days of eating, its accented pretty much everything down the gullet--popcorn, ajvar-toast, salads, and my own crappy home made fajitas ... you name it.

I'm a newbie in this domain, though, stymied by a lack of deep appreciation of this all-important sauce. So, prostrating to the experts, please help me dig myself out of the possible hole i've fallen into. What are the recommended Chipoltes? Brands / restaurant recs are both appreciated.

2009 Aug 12
The Tabasco brand chipotle sauce was my standard until I could not find a Walmart anymore. I was and is pricy. Through OF, I happened upon the Bufalo brand. The latter is less vinagery than the former, but seems more intensely flavoured. There is always the Chipotle in adobo sauce found most anywhere. I have yet to try the PC brand.

2009 Aug 12
I have tried the PC Chipotle sauce, it's surprisingly good for the price. I do find it a bit weak though in terms of heat. Louisana Hot Sauce has a chipotle sauce, as well as a jalapeño sauce, both are good as well. They can be found at Produce Depot. I've tried Bufalo brand, and it's ok in a pinch, but I've found the flavour to be a bit lacking (maybe I had a bad batch).

I still think the Tabasco brand of chipotle sauce is the ultimate, it seems to be rich in chipotle flavour... I can't put my finger on it, but I think it's actually thicker than the aforementioned sauces, which leads me to believe that there are more actual chili solids in the sauce.

When all else fails, take a small tin of chipotles in adobo sauce and blend them with a small amount of vinegar & water. Pour contents into squirt bottle, et voila!

2009 Aug 12