the Myths of “Competition” and “Efficiency” in farming [General]

2009 Jun 7
Have just started into this myself at the moment so cannot comment yet

www.nfu.ca

2009 Jun 7
Wow. The graphs on page 5 certainly tell a huge story in and of themself. It lists the commodity price of 4 major commodities : corn, wheat, barley, pork - and shows that the price paid to the farmer has remained flat for some 30 years, while the retails prices have doubled, tripled and in one case increased 5-fold!

2009 Jun 7
I glanced the article.

Conclusion: It sucks to be a (Canadian) farmer. Big time.

It also sucks to be a GM 'Nut Turner'.

Hello globalization ... the ultimate leveling of the playing field.

And I'm so glad my kids did not choose agricultural college, even after attending the Experimental Farm Summer Day Camp.

2009 Jun 7
Not me Captain - I'll be encouraging my kids into it, because the times, they are a-changin'

2009 Jun 7
I'm a farmer and you'd think I would be too small for the 'big' guys to bother with but it's all about Factory farming today. it's all about greed - really and only because of the public demanding LOCAL, has it given me the chance to start earning a decent income above the poverty limit.

2009 Jun 8
Factory farms are one of the primary reasons I stopped eating meat back when I was a teenager. The recent focus on lifecycle awareness (in consumer products and foods) has been an incredibly good thing - and more small, independent farmers are now able to make a decent living, doing things the right way. I really hope it's not a fad.

2009 Jun 9