Pad Thai [General]

2009 Mar 31
Does anyone have a killer Pad Thai recipe? I have tried two now and just haven't been satisfied. (I'm also new to Thai cooking so the problem could be me!) My favorite Pad Thai is the one served at the Siam Kitchen on Bank--it's full of flavour and is nicely sauced but not overly so.

2009 Apr 1
ottawafoodies.com/forum/861

Captain Caper has a copy of Savana Cafe's pad thai, which is pretty flavourful and suaced (though I find it a tad sweet). I haven't had Siam's, so I'm not sure how it is sauced..

2009 Apr 1
If you want less sweet, less saucy, use tamarind paste diluted in water, or tamarind sauce with some minced preserved turnip. Another good recipe to follow is this: www.thaitable.com

That is the one I base my recipe from.

2009 Apr 1
Thanks for the suggestions. I did use tamarind paste--but I think the issue was more in the proportions of noodle to sauce. The preserved turnip sounds interesting. Will give it a try. Thanks all.

2009 Apr 2
Pad Thai is one of those simple but tricky dishes--hard to get all of the flavours in balance consistently. My "tricks":

1) I usually use chicken, which I marinate in fish sauce, corn starch, and Shaoxing wine for 30 minutes, then stir fry for the Pad Thai.

2) My secret ingredient is powdered dry shrimp, maybe 1.5 tsp per serving added at the very end: Small, whole dried shrimps are of course traditional in Pad Thai, but I don't fancy their texture. The powdered ones add the flavour without the texture.

3) I like including a bit of pickled mustard greens (traditional, as I understand it). Same idea as the pickled turnip.

4) I used LOTS of tamarind paste. Soak a lump of pulp the size of a golf ball per serving.

5) The most common flaws I find in commercial versions are A) too sweet and B) too saucy. Ick.

2009 Apr 2
Ye gods--powedered dry shrimp! Never heard of such a thing. Where to find, where to find??

2009 Apr 2
HS, you can easily make your own