If I had to go out of my way... [Food/Vendor]

2007 Feb 2
If I had to purposely go out of my way (my way is anywhere near Sandy Hill, City Center, Byward Market) to get a dinner, where is the one place I should go?

Let me give you more information:
-My budget is maximum $25, no drinks
-I'm a student that's never really travelled anywhere out of my way
-I'd have to use the bus so no backcountry roads or anything where I'd have to transfer busses a lot
-I'm lacto-ovo vegetarian
-I'd like it to be somewhere fancy but not so much that I'd have to dress up
-I'm looking to eat there for any meal of the day (breakfast/lunch/dinner all welcome)

All suggestions are welcome. This will probably take place sometime in March since I'm too busy these few weeks.

2007 Feb 2
Personally, if I were you, I would head to Absinthe Café.

It's a *tiny* bit out of your way, but it's very easy to get to (simply take the bus to the Tunney's Pasture stop and walk a block south on Holland). It's very cool, urban and fun.

The menu is small though, so as a lacto-ovo vegetarian, you would probably not have a choice of the main course (there are only five thigns on the menu usually - poultry, beef, game, fish and veg). Adding the soups and appetizers though, there would be a great selection.

www.absinthecafe.ca

I LOVE this restaurant.

If you want to walk a block further in the same direction, there is a vegetarian restaurant called The Table (I think?) - I've never been, but you'd definitely have a lot more choice.

Just some ideas!

2007 Feb 2