OT : Nortel bankruptcy [General]

2009 Jan 14
My apologies to Fresh Foodie and the rest of you for this shameless plug. As you've probably heard, Nortel has files for bankruptcy protection today. I've been expecting this for a long time and have been sending my resume around but with no nibbles yet. Now that this news is in I'm tapping into some of the places I previous did not want to tap into - like posting off-topic messages in some of my favorite hangouts.

So, if any of you happen to know of someone looking for a top-notch Systems and Network Administrator, please send them my resume :

www.alanmckay.com

I do Linux, UNIX, Windows, networks, switches, file servers, web servers, database servers, mail servers, VPNs and a whole whack of other stuff. I've got over 15 years of experience.

No, I have not lost my job yet. No word on that - just "business as usual" for now. But it's only a matter of time.

Happy eating everyone!

2009 Jan 14
When I read the news this morning, I immediately thought of you guys - I know a lot of people in Ottawa who work for Nortel. :(

Good luck on the job search! If you were in Toronto, I could probably hook you up with something. ;) And if I DO hear of anything in Ottawa, I'll message you.

2009 Jan 14
Sorry to hear about your woes. I'll keep my fingers crossed but unfortunately I don't have any connections in Ottawa. Maybe you can become a professional food-blogger!

2009 Jan 14
yeah, sorry to hear all this (though not too surprised, i guess).

Seems like there could be something you can do to combine professional skills and personal interests? An open-source, php-based inventory system for restaurants maybe? Or, a home-canning label system?

2009 Jan 14
Zym - So sorry to hear the news... probably a good thing you are being proactive. I will keep my ear to the ground, but as you know there are a H3LL of a lot high tech jobs that have disappeared in recent years...